A Privilege

Jake asked what I wanted for Mother’s Day, and I told him that I really wanted 3 hours with the house to myself the day before, so I could do a thorough cleaning. My wish is to have every room in the house clean. At the same time. And hope that it can last more than a day or two. It’s a tall order I know, but I have been working and  hoping to get there.

This has been a rough week of juggling responsibilities and I couldn’t help but think of the future when life would (supposedly) get a little easier, a little less hectic, a little cleaner maybe. I was actually about to blog about some of these frustrations, and then I read this post from NieNie with this video:

Listening to her brought tears to my eyes and a lump in my throat. It was just the perspective I needed to change my entire outlook. Gone are the feelings of frustration replaced by those of gratitude and love. I view Stephanie as the epitome of strength and perseverance. I am so inspired by her and this video really hit home tonight. It was exactly what I needed to hear. I love when she says “to me, motherhood and beauty are one, they are the same”. I know a lot of women who need to hear that right now, and not just the mothers. Sisterhood is beauty too…

This one got me too, “sometimes I feel like my spirit taps my heart…” As someone who is just figuring out my divine purpose and role, and slowly gaining a stronger testimony of Christ, I know exactly what those tappings feel like. They are the whisperings inside that keep me moving forward in faith. For me, it’s like taking those first tentative steps into a pool of water while trying not to compare myself with others who may be jumping right in or others still who are happy to not even get wet. It’s a personal choice and we are all on our own spiritual timeline. Individuality is a great thing.

I am so blessed to have grown up in a wonderful family, and to have married into a wonderful family who supports us in all that we do. Even if it means another crazy trip to Arizona to be with us and show that support. You (my friends and family) may never know how grateful we are for those trips.

I feel privileged to raise my children along with my wonderful husband and I too, am happy for my trials that humble me and help me keep closer to my Heavenly Father. I know after each trial I endure, I change. I  become stronger and my resolve to be a better mother and wife is also strengthened. Motherhood and all that it encompasses, is a service that I will always feel honored to provide…

This entry was posted in family, life, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Privilege

  1. Jamie says:

    What a beautiful post – it is amazing the peace perspective can bring to our lives.

    K-I agree and I’m so thankful when I am reminded or taught this.

  2. Nicole says:

    Awesome.

    The sign of a strong woman is when she is honest enough to recognize her shortcomings, conscientious enough to want to correct them, and smart enough to recognize — and appreciate — her blessings.

    I’d say that pretty well sums you up.

    K-Speechless… thank you.

  3. Becca says:

    WOW!! Thanks for referring me to her blog.

    K-You will love her! I check her blog everyday…

Leave a Reply

