Tomato Prisons

Last night (now 2 nights ago) I traded my afterkidsgotosleepblogging for a run to my local home improvement store. Since Easter my garden has really started to take off and my tomato plants were in desperate need of those wire cage things.ย  Because of my friend Nicole’s blog, all I can think is “tomato prisons”…

{This is where I embarrass Nicole and tell you to check our her blog. Nicole posts a picture everyday and usually has something witty to say. (even her blog name is witty). She loves The Office, she is is a fantastic mom to her 2 adorable kids and among others things she is a rockin photographer. (though she won’t tell you any of that because she is also very modest). We were lucky to be her subject matter for a day too! She is great at capturing the everyday moments and I find myself visiting her blog not only for entertainment, but for a reminder of events that have gone on in our community. Thanks Nicole!}

Okay, back to my Home Depot excursion…

I bought the needed prisons, then I bought a package of washers to make necklaces (yes, jewelry made from super cheap hardware). I also picked up 18 of these for a project that I’ve been working on for some Girl Scout leaders. I promise to post pictures when they are done.They will *hopefully* be really cute and handy!

The washer necklaces areย  a lot cuter than I had hoped, but it’s not as easy as it looks to get your paper cut so precisely. I will post some pictures of those too when they are done, but here is a picture and link to the ones I got the idea from.

I’m pretty sure I’m going to make a ton of these to have on hand for little girl birthday parties, teacher gifts, (which we did use 2 for this week) or any other gift giving opportunity. The girls are really wanting to make some with me now and I think they could do it minus the exacto knife part. If you want to see more, just Google ‘washer necklaces’ and you will be overwhelmed with the amount of variety and cuteness. I really want to check the stamped washers next…

Here’s the garden about a month ago. I’m saving an updated picture for another post. I have something that is blooming soon that I’m really excited about. …that and I need to make sure I have more blogging fodder. I’m not used to this posting everyday thing yet!

This entry was posted in family, humor, life, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tomato Prisons

  1. Do you know the diameter of the washers and the inner circle? I might have circle punches that will work for that. They would be WAY easier than an exacto knife for certain.

    K-I think my washers were 3/4 of an inch on the diameter, and the inner circle?… um, not sure. We might have to make these Thursday instead of the ribbon holders. I’m having a hard time tracking down drawers…

  2. Jamie says:

    I love the more frequent posts!!!

    K-I do too! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think I picked the busiest month ever to try this, but so far so good.

  3. Nicole says:

    OK, I knew immediately you weren’t talking about ME, because if those plants were in MY yard, they’d have been in tomato “death row” and died within 48 hours of arrival! ๐Ÿ™‚

    K-Haha! Death row… I love it! How can you be so handy and not keep a garden alive? I thought you would be the home AND garden queen! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

