Need

Often I get caught up in the day to day just like everyone else. I fuss over the girl’s hair and clothes before they go to school. I flip through decorating magazines and dream about a full kitchen remodel a new dreamy landscape in my yard. I spend precious time from my kids to volunteer, clean, craft, run errands, attend meetings and parties, be online *ahem* and all other normal stuff. None of which I feel is wasted time. . . until.

Until something happens that makes me stop and question the importance (or lack thereof) of every little thing I do. Do I really need to buy that new piece of furniture? or should I be stocking up my food storage and 72 hour kits.  For the price of the cute rolls of ribbon I just bought maybe I could have bought some flashlights and packs of batteries. I have had Haiti, Chile and now Nashville (and surrounding areas) on my mind quite a bit and I hurt for the people who lost everything, especially those who lost family and friends. May we keep these people in our thoughts and prayers and help where we can.

One of my favorite bloggers, Allison Worthington(aka Mrs. Fussypants),  has been writing about the floods in Nashville and has also accumulated a great list of ways that everyone near or far can help. Here is a link to her site and her coverage of the destruction. Just thought I would pass this on to all of my readers…

*photo by Alli Worthington

This entry was posted in family, life, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Need

  1. Nicole says:

    It’s good that you think about all those things and that you are so empathetic toward others! We all should because there but the grace of God go any of us.

    But don’t beat yourself up for your rolls of ribbon … so much of our lives are about “have to” and “need to” that we forget that “don’t need” and “want” are — just the freedom to make those small choices — are a good chunk of life’s pleasures.

    K-Good point. Balance, balance, balance. Seems like that is the concept I will be working on forever.

  2. Jamie says:

    I’m so glad people are starting to talk about the floods in Nashville.

    K-I’m surprised how many haven’t heard about this…

  3. thank you, friend. thank you.

    xo

    K-You’re the one to be thanked. Keep it up…

  4. and yes, you do need to buy preparations.

    🙂

    K-Lol! I do, I know! Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

