And I was doing so well…

Yesterday I sat down and wrote down some new and continuing goals for myself. Over the last few weeks I have gotten off track on a few things and thought that since we are in June now, it would be good to clean the slate and start over again.

I love starting over and beginning fresh. I try not to focus on what I didn’t accomplish or maybe screwed up, and instead of getting discouraged, I get to wake up to a brand new day (or month, hour, etc.), with nothing holding me back. This is such an important concept because I know inevitably something is going to interrupt my plans or need my attention. That’s called life and I love it, distractions and all…

summer-time feet from 2005

My blogging everyday was going pretty well up until my 3 day jury duty stint. It took me a long time to catch up on that life stuff after that, and blogging had to take a back seat. Again. I’m sure it won’t be the last time either. However, I got my bloggy mo-jo back and that was the important part of my goal in the first place. I’m saying mission accomplished on that one.

While we’re talking about my jury duty experience, I’ll share a few things I learned. I have to say that I feel very lucky, and am proud to live in our free country where you don’t have to prove your innocence and have the chance to be given a fair trial. I also learned how much thought and time go into every. single. step. of the court process. I was impressed with how smoothly everyone involved played in their role, and how exact they were in regards to procedures and rules.

With that being said, there were also a couple times that I half-expected to hear the “Cops” theme music play in the background. And it wouldn’t have surprised me one bit to hear one of the lawyers tell us all that we “can’t handle the truth!”. Twice I looked around and half expected a T.V. crew. {let’s just say that there are definitely good reasons for those stereotypes. Wow.}

After all was said and (almost) done, I was picked as an alternate and didn’t get to deliberate with the other eight jurors. I was only a little disappointed. I would have liked to see the process finish out, but instead I got out of there 3 hours earlier than I would have, and got to explore beautiful downtown Florence (takes about 5 minutes), and buy some delicious fudge (cute place too!) before I rushed home to put on my end of year Girl Scout celebration. Success and relief for having both of those time-munchers behind me now.

Onward to the new goals of the month! There is a bunch, so I might have to break them into smaller posts later, but the main ones are for the whole family. They are to keep good sleep and workout habits all summer long. To make time aside each day for school review work, reading, weekly outings, and most importantly plan time for our daily scripture study. I also had all of the kids tell me one thing that each of them really wanted to experience or accomplish this summer, so those will be added to our “fun” list as well.

One of my personal workout goals is one that I was trying to start last month. I was challenged by my friend to do 100 sit-ups, push-ups, and lunges for 100 days. Well, I lasted about 3 days. It was a lot harder to do than I had first expected, and I was terrible at putting aside the time. I decided I needed some baby steps for this one, so instead I’m going to try 50 of each for 50 days, and then start my 100’s after I have become less wimpy made this into a habit. Day one down, 49 to go…

This week finally is starting to feel like summer break; the kiddie pool in the back is getting daily use, as is the grill, and we even had a backyard camp out last night too. We have lots of fun plans and our yearly Utah trip coming up. Now if I can just convince my kids that swimming every day does not make up for a daily bath/shower!

Yay! for summer and yay! for little black feet!

…and apparently dirty feet are really funny! 🙂

This entry was posted in family, humor, kids, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And I was doing so well…

  1. Jamie says:

    Love your attitude! I’m all about fresh starts too (maybe that is why I move so often.) Nothing feels better than giving yourself a new slate to move on and improve.

    Love the photos too – great concept

    K-I love that part of moving, but I really don’t want to so that anytime soon. SO much work! 😉

Leave a Reply

