Here Today

This evening I tried to think back over the last few weeks and remember exactly what I have done everyday of our vacation and I am coming up short. I had the best intentions, and even printed out a blank calendar to help me keep track. If only I had kept up on my blogging… lesson learned.

It’s been a wonderful break and the only thing missing is Jake. If it weren’t so hot in AZ, I would feel much worse about spending a month on vacation without him. Actually, if that were the case, then I wouldn’t leave him for the summer anyway, right? I was relieved to hear that I wasn’t the only wife to ditch their husband and escape the summer heat this year- there were at least 5 or 6 more. (Knowing you’re not alone makes everything better). Just kidding sweetie!

The kids and I have been doing all of our usual summer activities like millions of bbq’s, sleep-overs with the grandparents, swimming, biking, sewing, crafting, fighting with siblings and cousins, feeding animals, etc. We also have a few new additions this year like; weekly ‘smore making, gymnastics lessons, weekly lunches with Great-grandma, pretend to be tourists days, drive-in nights, Temple excursions and kids taking turns being sick. Okay, so the last one has not been so much fun, but you take the good with the bad I suppose. First Geoffrey got sick right after his birthday, and is just now finishing up his antiboitics. Then Patick and Maddy were able to catch a nasty cough that will not go away. (of course only a virus. that can last for up to 14 days!) seriously, shoot me now…

One of the highlights of my trip was seeing Paul McCartney in concert with my sister and parents. I’ve always felt a little sorry for myself for never getting the chance to see The Beatles live, and this was definitely the next best thing. I wouldn’t consider myself a Beatles freak, but not surprisingly there were only a few songs I didn’t recognize. Great show, great venue and perfect weather for an outdoor show! 

Some of my favorites (obviously) were Blackbird, I’ve Just Seen A Face and Live And Let Die, just to name a few.  The song “Here Today”  was one that I was only vaguely familiar with, but ended up being one of my other favorites. Paul prefaced it with a perfect sentiment about John Lennon, so of course I was choked up for most of the song. Mr. McCartney is still such an amazing entertainer, and he just looks like he’s having so much fun performing. This show was definitely a high point in the trip!

We only have a little over a week left and are going to celebrate yet another birthday, (Maddy’s 9th) hit a baseball game, go to a parade, and anything else we can think of to fit in! Hope all of you are making some great summer memories as well! I did at least download a bunch of photos, so I should have some blog material for a long time to come!

~As promised~

 Geoffrey enjoying his very first chocolate cake. I think he licked his thumb at least 10 times! He REALLY enjoyed it! 🙂

cake love

*I was lucky enough to get sick just as my kids improve which is why I am just finally posting this. good times.*

This entry was posted in family, humor, kids, life, love, music, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here Today

  1. Jamie says:

    So glad you had a good visit at home! Wish I could have caught up with you while you were there. Maybe next trip.

  2. Stacy Johnson says:

    I think Geoffrey aged like 6 months since you left. COME HOME NOW PLEASE!!! I don’t know how Jake is surviving cause I’m missing you so much it hurts. That is so weird. Can’t wait to see you. Tell Maddy to check her e-mail on Thursday, we are trying to do something special for her on her birthday.

  3. I love summers just for that reason. So many things, some big some small, but enjoying family and the season.

  4. sleepyjane says:

    Haha!! That photo is just TOO FREAKING ADORABLE! 🙂

Leave a Reply

