Frosting For Breakfast

Yesterday I made that incredible cake that I told you all about in my last post, and I am finally ready to post the recipe. Sorry about making you wait so long; first week of school=crazy busy!Β  Thanks to my wonderful Father in law for passing this recipe along.

I know you will all love it so much that you feel like doing this while you’re eating it:

I couldn’t resist posing this video from Geoffrey’s 1st birthday, it was just too funny!

While I was making the cake and frosting, I was also helping kids with homework, making dinner, and attempting to keep a certain 4 year old happy and occupied, and keep a 1 year old from climbing on everything. (his new favorite trick) In the midst of all that chaos I somehow managed to screw up the frosting.

I’m pretty sure I left out the extra 1/4 cup of cocoa, but I wasn’t sure until later when it wouldn’t set up. At all. My FIL had warned me that it takes a long time, but after 3 hours in the refrigerator it was still super runny, so that’s when I figured out something had gone wrong.

I left it in the refrigerator over night, but this morning it still hadn’t set up, so I added a little powdered sugar so I could actually frost the cake. It was only 8:30 in the morning and I was frosting a huge chocolate cake, so I went ahead and dipped some strawberries in the extra frosting and devoured at least 5 of them. I’m healthy like that.

As you can see, my frosting is a still a little on the not so thick side, since it is sort of falling off my cake, but it’s still somewhat pretty. It tasted just as delicious as I remember, so I guess I didn’t mess it up too badly.

I was really tempted to scoop up all the excess frosting off the sides of the cake and lick my fingers, but Geoffrey, Patrick and their cute little friends beat me to it today. Smart kids!

I would highly recommend that you make the frosting first, at least an hour before you start the cake, just so you can pick in it it’s ready in time to frost the cake. It’s a very simple recipe and this is my first 2-tiered cake that really turned out, so that should tell you how easy it was.

Go now, bake this up, call some friends over you want to impress and/or bribe for something and enjoy!

Chocolate Cake Heaven

Makes 1 – 8″ 2 layer cake
Total Time 45 minutes + Cooling

3 cups All purpose flour
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp table salt
2 cups hot water
3/4 cup vegetable oil
2 Tbsp distilled white vinegar
1 Tbsp instant coffee granules
1 Tbsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees with rack in the center. Spray 2 8×2 inch round cake pans with nonstick spray.

Whisk together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a large mixing bowl

Combine water, oil, vinegar, instant coffee, and vanilla in a large measuring cup. Add to the dry ingredients and whisk just until combined – a few lumps ar OK. Divide batter between pans, then bake until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 35-40 minutes. Cool cakes on a rack for 15 minutes, then invert them onto the rack, Leave cakes upside down (this flattens domed cakes) to cool completely.

Glossy Chocolate Icing

This icing yields a bit more than you need for this cake, but it is great on graham crackers or warmed to top an ice cream sundae.

Makes about 4 cups
Total time: 10 minutes + cooling

1 stick unsalted butter
1-1/2 cups sugar
1-1/4 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
pinch of salt
1-1/4 cups heavy cream
1/4 cup sour cream
1 tsp instant coffee granules
2 tsp vanilla extract

Melt butter in large saucepan over medium heat.
Stir in sugar, cocoa and salt. (Mixture will be thick and grainy)

Combine heavy cream, sour cream and instant coffee in a large measuring cup, mixing until smooth. Gradually add cream mixture to chocolate until blended and smooth. Cook until sugar has dissolved and mixture is smooth and hot to the touch. Do Not Boil.

Off heat add vanilla. Cool icing at room temperature until spreadable. (Icing may be chilled until completely cold, then warmed gently in the microwave until spreadable. Heat at high power in 20 second intervals, stirring well after each interval.)

This cake is not complete until it’s iced and a thick layer of chocolate really seals the deal. The glossy chocolate icing needs to cool completely to be spreadable.

*FYI I omitted the coffee granules and it was still excellent in case any of you were concerned. πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in cooking, family, kids, photography, recipes, Uncategorized, youtube video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frosting For Breakfast

  1. Jamie says:

    It looks delicious – but maybe a bit ambitious for me and my lack of cooking skills.

  2. bookbabie says:

    Wow, the cake looks yummy but so does Geoffrey! Isn’t it lovely how little children make joy look so easy:)

Leave a Reply

