‘Tis The Season

*Guerrilla update*

My Girl Scouts did a great job of giving secret gifts and nice notes on doors, they just didn’t really “get” the anonymous part of the whole thing. 🙂 I’m pleased they got into the spirit of giving anyway.  As for myself, an opportunity arose while I was in Salt Lake to contribute in a sub for santa for a newly divorced mom trying to give her 3 teenage kids a great Christmas on her own. She is lucky to have such supportive friends in her life (including my sister) and I was thankful for a chance to help!

I’ve been trying to think of something to do to help me get in the Christmas mode of thinking (which is really hard to do in Arizona with palm trees and mid 70 80 temps) and knew this was my answer. I read about this on my friend Jamie’s blog, which she got from Jen at  Gilding Lilies, that I’m pretty much just going to copy and paste so you get the original idea in the creator’s own words.

Last year I decided to do a Guerrilla Holiday, and I want to do it again this year, and I’m hoping you will want to join me. Here is the big idea. Have you ever heard of Guerrilla Artist’s? Basically, they are artists that make art and install, preform, or attach it to public spaces, with the intention of affecting the world in a creative and thought provoking way (to paraphrase Keri Smith). These installations are often anonymous, and very unique. Do a web search for “guerrilla art” and you will see many wonderful examples. My idea is to remove some of the hype from the holiday and remind people of the simple joy of kindness. I think we all get so wrapped up in the stress of the season, we sometimes forget about small ways we can feel, and spread joy.  I’m talking about some random acts of giving. Tiny stuff, sweet stuff, unexpected stuff. Here are some ideas to get your creative juices flowing. Decorate a public and unexpected object. Put a handmade greeting card on a strangers windshield. If you’re a crafter, make something small, and stick it in a neighbors mailbox. Go for a walk and stick a single shiny ornament on every tree that you pass. Tie a pretty tag, with a few kind words, on somebodies trash can (won’t that just freak them out!). One of my readers tucked handmade beaded bookmarks in library books. There are a million possibilities. Make a sticker or a sign. Do you have something to say about the holiday season? Well, this is your chance! Won’t you join me? I am really excited to see what you do. Send me some pictures, or tell me some stories, and I will try to post as many of them as I can. Spread the word, and take a Guerrilla Holiday Button. Let’s see what we can do. I believe this could be something special, don’t you?!

I absolutely LOVE this idea and really wanted to pass it on to any of you who are looking for a way to share your talents and Christmas spirit with those around you this year. I’m lucky to have many opportunities to provide service in my church and neighborhood, but there’s something about secret “gift” giving that makes me all tingly and warm! I’ll sure need that the next few weeks as I head to Utah.

I also passed this challenge on to my 12 girl scouts as well, along with a little bribery from me, so I’m excited to see what creative things they come up with.

Hope you are all enjoying this holiday season so far! I have lots to share, but most likely it will be in the new year. Good thing that is right around the corner, because I’m sure missing this place…

See you soon!

K

This entry was posted in family, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Tis The Season

  1. Jamie says:

    Thanks so much for helping us spread the word. I can report I took some cookies to a neighbor just because, it felt great – and felt even better when then brought me banana bread the next day. Gotta love karma.

  2. Thank you so much for spreading the word! It really does make you feel great. If you have any stories you would like to share, regarding acts of Guerrilla Kindness, I would love to hear about them. I can’t wait to hear about the girl scouts. Thanks again! Go Guerrillas!

Leave a Reply

