Checking In

Just a quick update to tell everyone that I have been deemed cancer free by my surgeon last week! It was such a relief and we feel very lucky and blessed to have those results! We have been doing lots of celebrating and I’m sure we’ll continue to celebrate for quite a while longer…

I have lots of catching up to do here, but it will have to wait until I catch up in real life first. I’m planning on writing about my whole melanoma ordeal soon, as I have been receiving quite a few emails and private messages asking many questions in regards to my experience. I hope the sharing of my story will prompt even more of you to get checked out by your doctors soon if needed.

Oh, and I had to share this picture because at the time I took it, I thought my scar was pretty gnarly. Ha! That was taken a week before my surgery to remove a wider margin of skin. Pretty sure none of you want to see the updated version. Now my scar makes my 2 year old say “eww” when he sees it. (think small shark bite looking)

I, on the other hand, am not minding it as much as I thought I would. It is a reminder to me of everything that is important in my life; my husband, my children, the rest of my family and the friends that feel like family. And of course it also reminds me to cover up and protect myself and those kids that I love. No way do I ever want to see them go through this! If I think about it too much I get angry and want to do this:

…and then I get scared and want to move to Forks and become a vampire. And then I remember to have faith again. But still I find myself staring at the moles on the actors while watching a movie and almost everyday I swear that I find a new mole on myself or my kids. Irrational? Probably. Unfounded? Not really. I’m sure over time I’ll become more laid back and worry less, but that’s kind of a worry in itself isn’t it? {sigh} Hmm. Time will tell I guess.

On that note I’m going to go wash off my daily slather of sunblock and go to sleep dreaming about nonexistent carefree days of sunbathing. šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in coping, journaling, random, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Checking In

  1. Jamie says:

    What wonderful news – I’ve been sending lots of prayers and good wishes your way. I’m so glad things are looking up.

Leave a comment