Big Bugs And Little Breaks

This scary looking thing was on my sister’s driveway in Cedar City and of course I had to take a picture! I know it looks big in the macro shot, but it really was big. Big enough that I didn’t want to squish it and make a mess! I took a picture by my flip-flop so you get an idea of the size. I’d say maybe 2 inches long?

I asked someone at the University where my sister works what it was and now I know, but I want to see if any of you can identify it for me first. (no cheating!) Apparently these can get up to 3 or 4 inches long. Yuck.

I am actually going to write a real post with more than two paragraphs soon too. I am finally catching up on life after my small hiatus, and have several catch-up posts on the way. Thanks for being patient with me!

Happy Wordless Wednesday everyone! Click below for more participants!

This entry was posted in life, photography, random, travel, Uncategorized, wordless wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Big Bugs And Little Breaks

  1. Kemi says:

    OH. MY. GOSH.

    I would have been screaming, and done that shuddery dance I’m famous for when met with creepy crawlies. (I’m totally giving myself chills, just re-imagining that giant bug’s face.)

    Yuck. *shiver*

    K-Not to scare you more, but I guess they give quite the nasty bite too. *yeah, I’m doing the shuddery dance too* 🙂

  2. Jo says:

    is it real?

    Thanks for stopping by my WW! Thanks!

    K-It is real, but it sure didn’t move much. Maybe it was dying? It did eventually make it to the other side of the driveway though…

  3. EWW! Great photo with all that detail! Thanks for stopping by! Happy WW!

    K-Thanks! I just googled these bugs and I think I have the only “face” shot! lol! Yes, I’m easily amused! 🙂

  4. Can’t wait to hear more from you again! And I totally would not have squished that either. If you can feel the crunch, it is too big.

    K-Eww, I know. Gross squish potential!

  5. Momisodes says:

    Yikes! I’ve never seen anything like it! Very cool shot though.

    I can never kill anything. Unless it’s a mosquito. I have no problem taking them out 🙂

    K-I have no problem killing crickets, spiders, earwigs, etc. Apparently I’m not a very tolerant person! 😉

  6. Cresta says:

    What IS that thing? Yuck!

    K-I’ll tell you all soon! 😉 I almost forgot about that bug until I downloaded all my pictures from the last few weeks. I’m a little behind…

  7. Ick!!!…that looks…*shiver*…”interesting“. No clue what that could be. I am not a fan of bugs.

    K-I wouldn’t say I’m a fan of bugs, but I am super curious when I see something really freaky or unusual!

  8. ok, that’s a creepy bug and I have NO idea what it is.

    But what was all that whining on my blog about being jealous of my lens and camera? That photo totally rocks! It’s so sharp and close. That’s one thing my new lens can’t do. Macro.

    Guess you can’t have everything.

    K-Dude. You’re totally right, and I do love my macro setting! Promise no more whining on your blog! 🙂

  9. sleepyjane says:

    HOLY CRAP BATMAN! I hate those things!! We get them here when it rains a lot. We call them parktown prawns. Ewwwwww!!

    K-Wow, in Utah and South Africa! Your name for them is much cooler The official name is Jerusalem Crickets. Okay, now you can all go Google them!

  10. Ew! That thing is positively frightening. And it looks nothing like a nice little cricket (to me, anyway), Jerusalem or not!

    K-We have many crickets here in AZ too, but I haven’t seen one like this before either. Thank goodness. Scorpions are scary enough!

  11. What a freaky looking bug!! ick!!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂 It looks like we have a couple of mutual blogging friends!

    K-It was really freaky to see that thing…gross! Thanks for the visit! 🙂

  12. Ann says:

    What THE? What IS THAT? Seriously? It looks alien and freakish – and humanoid! OMG, it’s SO freaky. Never seen a bug like that in my life.

    K-That’s almost exactly what I said to my sister when we saw it in front of her house! I am from Utah and had NEVER seen one before. Don’t really want to see another one either. Here is the wikipidedia link to this cricket. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jerusalem_cricket

  13. I thought it was a toy bug until you said it wasn’t. Oh, my! I’ve never seen one. Bugs don’t bother me much, but something that big with a FACE like that might.

    K-I was pretty surprised by this ugly thing as well. 🙂

  14. Liz says:

    Its a jerusalem-cricket… we had one in the office and looked up scary bugs- your blog came up and from there we were able to figure it out. They aren’t dangerous at all, but totally ugly.

  15. Kylee says:

    It’s related to these, which are HUGE and native to my country, New Zealand.

  16. Qman says:

    Its a potato bug… they are very harmless.

  17. George says:

    It’s called a weta.

Leave a comment