Ivy’s Quilt

Back in April our family was lucky enough to get a new niece. As girls are outnumbered in regards to the grandkids in our family, we were very excited about this edition. Not only is she the first girl in over 7 years, she is also my brother’s first baby and I think it’s weird and cool at the same time. Little brothers aren’t grown up enough to have families of their own! Okay, maybe at 28 he might be ready…

Ivy is a sweet little chublet and I can’t wait to see her and hold her in a few short days! As I’ve been preparing for our trip I’ve also been working fast sewing a quilt that I was hoping to have done before our original travel days which would have given me an extra week or so, but luckily I was able to finish the top in between packing and everything else.

I decided to try a new pattern and after looking online I picked the disappearing nine patch. I had bought an Amy Butler charm pack last year and didn’t really know what I was going to use it for until Ivy was born. Here is a picture of the first stage of squares before cutting them up and mixing them around:

After laying them out and rearranging over and over, I finally settled on a design and got out my rotary cutter and got busy. This was actually the fun part to see a whole new design emerge from only two cuts and rotating two squares around. Hopefully this picture illustrates that for you:

I love how it looks so far and can’t wait to get a back on it and have it quilted.

Geoffrey is a big kid and fits on it pretty well, so I’m sure little Ivy will have lots of space to roll around.

I hope Ivy and her parents will love it as much as Geoffrey and I do!

This entry was posted in crafts, family, kids, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ivy’s Quilt

  1. That is so awesome!
    And I am sorry that you have been back here blogging and I have been mia.

  2. Stacy Johnson says:

    Way to go Karolee! That is beautiful. Someday you need to post the instructions…or at least the link to them. I love quilts and that one is gorgeous. Ivy is going to love it. Have a fabulous trip, hopefully we’ll get to meet up with you while you are there.

  3. Kemi says:

    It’s beautiful! So summery and fresh!

    If you feel the need to make another one, keep in mind that my baby is coming in three weeks, give or take… LOL

  4. Wow…I love it! Ivy is lucky to have such a talented auntie. 🙂

  5. bookbabie says:

    Very pretty, happy colors Karolee! I can’t believe you find time to quilt, now I have no excuse for not get started on one for Ashton:)

  6. Beth says:

    Thank you for showing the disappearing 9 patch and how it is made. I had heard of it and seen the results, but didn’t know how it was done. Your results are beautiful, and I am sure your brother and his family loved it.

Leave a comment